Its my first day...my friends are saying "you're doing what?!

imotherrunner

Hi Everyone!

It's my first day for Whole30 and posting on a forum...from what I see this is about the most encouraging and helpful group ever...makes this a little less daunting!

Funny thing about this is that I work in healthcare and the reactions I get are so funny! Hearing the excuses of why they can't pass on cheese or bread or sweets is almost as fun as watching their faces while trying to comprehend why I am doing this. Makes me want to succeed even more.

As a new person I would love any hind sight, advice or tips that are out there!

What are some absolute must haves, easy to make, easy to carry (bike trips, kayak trips, etc).

Thanks everyone!

Welcome! I have a few tips. Are you trying to get over an addiction to sweets? If so, I'd recommend you stay away from fruit as much as possible, and dried fruit for sure. Also don't go nuts with nuts! I was so excited my first few weeks that nuts were allowed...I ate WAY too many and eventually had to stop buying them altogether. Same with nut butters. Otherwise I would just say follow the meal template as closely as you can, eat mini-meals if you need snacks, and come back here if you have more questions or problems...good luck!

Hi, I'm on day 13 and loving Whole 30! My friends don't understand either, but I'm enjoying the results and carrying on.

I have been amazed by how easy it is to make homeade mayonnaise! I've used this to make some really great egg salad and a chicken salad too. You can make sandwiches with lettuce leaves or just eat it as a salad. With an ice pack, you can stick it in a bag for bike trips, etc.

Guacamole is a great and easy topping too that I'm using on meats, eggs, salads. Yum!

I've found some great recipes from Melissa Joulwan's blog, The Clothes Make the Girl, http://www.theclothesmakethegirl.com/category/recipes/. Melissa is the author of Well Fed: Paleo Recipes for People Who Love to Eat.