Starting July 15 - Whole 30 from a Cornfield

orianaoracle

Hello, everyone!  I am going to start my Whole 30 journey on Monday, July 15.  I'm both excited and nervous.  I know this will require a lot of planning and dedication, and I have a bit of fear around falling off track.  However, I'm going to do my very best to stick to the program!

Now, onto the personal bits and pieces!  Please forgive the long post!  (If you want to skip the background information, scroll to the Summary at the bottom of my post to see what I want out of the program.)

I am currently 29 years old, an editor by profession, and have been trying to follow a healthy lifestyle and lose some weight.  Back in the day, I was really overweight (think size 26/28 and up in women's clothing).  I never owned a scale back in high school/college, but I would estimate I weighed around 280 pounds, easily.  Oh, did I mention I'm about 5'9 1/2"?

I was a little more health-conscious in college, and got my weight down around 250 pounds.  In Fall 2008, my job offered an at-work Weight Watchers program.  I decided to try it.  Toss in my first 5K, 10K, and half-marathon races; a wider array of healthy food choices; and some exercise classes, and that brings us to Fall 2011. I had lost 80 pounds and was at 170.

In 2012, I started following my own ideas about healthy eating and increased my fitness.  I tried new fruits and veggies, took baby steps toward gluten-free eating, and really monitored what nutrients went in my mouth.  I hit 165 pounds in Summer 2012, which is the lowest weight I have ever been.

Where am I now?  Allow me to give you the good ...

• Weight: I hover between 170 and 175 pounds, never really going up too much.
  • Appearance: I generally wear size 8 pants and M - L shirts (compared to 26/28 back in the day!).  My muscles are nicely defined in a lot of areas, which makes me proud of my progress!