I want my life back - 30 days seems to be a good starting place

cactusflower

Hi everyone!

I am new to Whole9 and Whole30.  I have a few reasons for wanting to do this.

I've been on antidepressants since 2002/2003 and am now on my third one because the other two "stopped working".  With this third medication i'm also taking another antidepressant to "boost" it.  I'd really like to stop taking them altogether.

I had some serious finger/hand pain (I couldn't hold my toothbrush) a few years ago and was tested for Celiac, Lupus, Fibromyalgia, Arthritis etc etc. All my tests came back normal.  It seemed to go into remission after taking medication but now I have other pain.

I have gotten headaches most of my life (i'm 40) and have had seasonal allergies most of my life.  The headaches seemed to get a bit better after a couple months of acupuntire treatments but I still get sinus headaches and sinus congestion that sometimes last a couple days.  Lately the nagging factor is the joint pain I am having.  One day it will be my wrist (and slightly swollen) the next day it's gone and in my ankle (slightly swollen).  Other days my fingers hurt, or my hips hurts or my knees hurt or my elbows, shoulders or they all hurt together etc etc.

I'm 5'4 and as of yesterday morning, 170 lbs. My highest. weight. ever.  I was once a fit, healthy, active and pain free 125 lbs. Yes my diet has sucked (processed crap) which is why I gained weight but the pain I am having now is slowly sucking the life out of me.  I haven't been to the gym in weeks (I used to live in the gym and loved it!) and even then it's sporadic. My social and love life are non-existent.

I spent alot of time reading some of the blog posts before signing up and it appears that this will be a good way for me to start regaining my health and life.

Thanks for listening. :)

• 11 months later...