How can I follow Whole30 principles while preparing for a half marathon?

Sarahlizy

Hi,

I've been dabbling in Paleo for 2-3 months now, fist having read Mark Sisson's The Primal Blueprint. I've since done quite a bit more reading up and cleaning up of my diet. I eat mostly paleo apart from the odd slip up (I really love chocolate) and restaurant meals for special occassions. Although I've been searching the forums and it seems a few of the foods I eat, like coyo and vita coco (I may have got carried away with my new discovery of cocont based products) aren't whole30 approved.

I finished reading it starts with food last week and am now reading The Paleo Solution, and I really love the Whole30 approach, it just makes sense and I really can't wait to get started. However, I'm also running a half marathon in 17 days. I'm doing it for charity so I really want to do well, so I planned my whole30 start date to be the day after my half marathon, one challenge ends another begins. In the mean time I'd like to adjust my eating to be as close to whole30 compliant as possible. I was wondering if anyone has any advice on what to eat for long disance running and preparing for a half marathon that would fit with the whole30 princilples? I'm thinking a lot of sweet potatoes but I'm not really sure what else.

Any advice would be really appreciated.