michellel

I am new to Paleo, and actually just heard a few people talking about it.  I am excited to start on a new way of life and get my body back into shape and feeling better.  I am 45 with two fairly young kids, so I need a bunch of energy.  Where on this forum is recommended for me to start?  OH and I am pretty scared that I wont' be able to control my cravings for sugar, I love candy and sweets.  What do I do in those times when I just want to run to the store and buy some sweets? 

Welcome :)

This page is a great place to start:

http://www.whole9life.com/category/whole-30/

The whole 30 meal template, and timeline are also helpful:

http://whole9life.com/book/ISWF-Meal-Planning-Template.pdf

http://www.whole9life.com/2013/08/revised-timeline/

Use the template as your guide for every single meal - if you follow it, and include a decent amount of protein and fats along with lots of vegies and you should help your cravings. Protein and fats are extremely satisfying, and if you're listening to your body you'll realise it's not hunger that's calling your name! ( snacking is discouraged, but if you're starving, a mini meal of protein, fats and vegies will be more satisfying than sugary foods.)

Some people with massive sugar dragons limit fruit for a while, although the whole 30 is definitely not anti-fruit. Including a small amount with a meal is the recommendation. You will probably be better off including starchy vegie carbs in your meals to perhaps offset your body's cries for sugar. If it's getting the nutrients it needs, you body will be happy and not need to look for nutrients....which is what happens when you get cravings. The starchy vegies will also help with energy.

The timeline will help you know what you're likely to be feeling and expecting - your journey may differ depending on where you're coming from, but most people experience a similar timeline.