At the precipice...

WholyMoley77

So, I'm an engineer who solves problems for a living and for some reason I can not seem to solve the problem that my physical self is not to spec.  :)  5'7", 200 lbs, 38" waist.  My goal is to drop 40 lbs and get to a 34" waist.  My timeline is adjustable.  

I have been really unsatisfied with my current physical self and feel that it has a negative impact on social, romantic and personal life.

I feel that the cause of this is my food supply and exercise level.

My food supply is bad because I don't make good choices; I don't make good food choices for many reasons.  I eat out of emotional response, I am poorly trained on how to eat and I like to eat something that I can just grab quickly.  

I have completed a few home workout programs (Insanity, P90X) before but I never really commit to the diet portion.  I saw great results with Insanity and mediocre results with P90X.  

I believe I would like to get through the whole 30 without a concentrated exercise program; just my usual weekly hikes.  

Once completed with Whole 30, then I can kick off the working out in a big way.  

If you have any thoughts or ideas, feel free to share.  

Thank you

Josh

W30 is good stuff. I've found the difficult part isn't eating W30 food (there is lots of choice and it is truly delicious: and I've found emotional eating to be almost entirely controlled by eating differently which was a big bonus I wasn't expecting) or avoiding bad food (that gets easier -- have you read ISWF? I would, because it gives you great answers to those little voices in your head which pop up every now and then telling you that a glass of wine / pint of beer /  piece of cake won't hurt); but being organised enough to have enough food in your fridge all the time so it is just as easy to eat a W30 compliant meal as to eat a sausage roll / Cornish pastie.