Differences between adjustment to paleo and testing/reintroducing old foods

tiva

Hi--

I've just finished the Whole30 (although I've been doing primal/paleo for about 12 years), and I have a pretty basic question about reintroduction.

We expect folks to go through 8 or 9 days of pretty unpleasant symptoms when they first do Whole30 or strict paleo, as their bodies adjust to new metabolic pathways and detox. 

But when we reintroduce old foods after Whole30, how do we know the difference between

1) the need to adjust to fine foods that have just been eliminated for 30 days (ie, similar to the paleo adjustment)

or

2) a reaction to food sensitivities which should be interpreted as: stay away from those foods forever!

So, for example, after 12 years of fairly low starch paleo, when I added sweet potatoes in, they made me very sleepy and sluggish. But I figured that was my body adjusting, so I ate a little bit each night (when I wanted to be sleepy).

But now, after Whole30, if we have a similar reaction to any food that we reintroduce, it seems that we interpret that as a food sensitivity, indicating we should avoid those foods as much as possible.

How do we tell the difference? I've avoided gluten for 12 years, because when I first added a little back in 11 years and 11 months ago (after a month without it), I had brutal symptoms. So I figured, and my doctor agreed: gluten insensitivity! Because I'm happy to go a lifetime without gluten, I haven't questioned that verdict. But maybe I was wrong? 

• Moderators