Newbie - night before starting... Any type 1 diabetics out there?

DeeP

Hi Everyone

Hope you are all well.

Tommorrow, July 7th is my start date for the whole 30.

I've never done anything like this before, this forum is new to me. I'm hoping to gain some support and helpful wisdom/advice from those who have been where I am and have pushed through and made a change in they're lives.

I'm a 26 year old type 1 diabetic who has been a diabetic for 21 years.

Well controlled, no complications to date (touch wood) but feel like I need to make some serious changes in my life!

I come from a a big italian family I am surrounded by rich foods (which I love) but are not quite so healthy for my body. I find myself being the biggest I have ever been in terms of weight (85kgs) and aknolwedge my unhealthy relationship with food and the patterns I seem to be repeating which lead me to where I am today.

I'm sick of starting over every Monday saying - this week is the week. I'm sure my family/partner are too

Because I start and stop and start again, the decision to embark on this challenge I'm not getting a lot of support. But I am doing this for me. So here I am.

I notice I reward myself with food when I am feeling down or stressed.

I also give into my food cravings very easily.

My biggest challenge with all my diet/attempts to change my lifestyle is the weekends/events where I am out with my family/friends and surrounded my food and the expectation to eat like them.

They often get offended if I don't eat. And I admit, I like the food. I have the choice to say no.

I gues that's just something I'm going to have to live with the next 30 days!

I am READY to make this change. Not just for 30 days. But I am hoping the next 30 days will be the kick start i need for this new way to become a sustaineable lifestyle change. wish me luck.

Any type 1 diabetics out there doing this program?

Please share your experience.

Thank you

Take care all

D

x

• Moderators