Day 7, first whole30.

chrissie

Hello to anyone reading this!   I can't believe I'm here, seven days in and ok!   I was anxious about starting this programme - a life-long member diet clubs and still overweight and unfit, and always rebelling against their rules; subconsciously I think I realised there was something wrong with their restrictions on some foods, but it's ok to buy their manufactured fake food!   I don't even know how I came across the whole30, but I am so pleased I did, it makes so much sense.  

I'm 60, live in England and work full time nights, I know my health was sub optimal but I didn't realise how much my food choices were having an impact on me.  and I am a nurse, so really should have known better!  

I started cutting down on wheat and sugar as soon as I got into reading the book 'It starts with food', so perhaps that is why I haven't had any horrendous withdrawal symptoms, yet :)

What I have learned is I can eat vegetables without horrid gut problems - because I am not having the wheat and sugar.   I lived off bread, pasta, crisps and potatoes, because anything else caused pain, bloating and other very undesirable effects.   Whenever I tried to get healthy by adding veg, I soon opted back out because it was too uncomfortable (and a couple of embarrassing moments too).  No fun at all.   Yet, by removing all the processed stuff I can even eat cauliflower.... that used to really gripe me, so it's wonderful!  (OK, I'm having to have it without cheese for a few weeks, but it's worth it!)

I have also learned that I enjoy really simple meals, and at the moment, I don't need any involved recipes... perhaps that will change as the days go on. But to eat roasts or grills with buttered (sorry, ''ghee'd'') veg, without guilt, measuring or pointing.... I feel Normal!