Starting Monday the 20th

JSteeleM

I've been doing a mostly paleo diet for several months now and I've lost about 25 lbs.  I've looked at Whole30 before, but wasn't really ready for that level of commitment, but I think now is the time.  I really want to take things further and get as healthy as I can.  Especially now that winter is coming and in the NW winter can be really tough for me.  

I feel confident I can do it, but I'm worried about not having any alcohol.  My friends and I get together about once a week and have a few drinks (sometimes a few more), play pool or cards and just socialize.  It'll be tough for me not to join in.  I'm going to let them know what I'm doing and ask for their support so I think that will help.  I may have to skip the hang out sessions that involve alcohol, but like I've ready a  number of times already: It's only 30 days!

Anyone else starting Monday?  Feel free to message me.  I know I could use moral support so I'm willing to give it.

I'm gearing up for my 3rd Whole30 this weekend as well - and I'm also an Oregonian (I live out in Columbia County).

JSteele, alcohol was one of the harder things for me to give up also (that, and coffee on my 2nd Whole30).  I found that instead of reaching for the wine most every night when I got home from work, I'd have a kombucha instead.  And I got to actually really like club sodas when I was out socially.  It was weird at first when everyone else was drinking, but it does get easier.  Don't cut yourself off socially or you'll miss out on too much of the good stuff!

Melissa:  I'm in Portland too. That's great that you're doing your second round.  Any tips?

Darkbloodangel:  Good point!  I may need to just take a break for the first couple of week though until I get the hang of things. ;-)