May 1st Whole30

roihus

This is my third attempt at completeing a Whole30. We mostly eat Paleo but I've gotten off track recently and it's time to get my head back in the game. This is my first time joining the forum and signing up for the Whole30 Daily email. I've got a good support system at home but am excited to officially join the Whole30 community. Let's do this! :D

Welcome! I've done two successful ones, one of which was a Whole55, but recently keep screwing myself up in my attempts. I thought last week was going to be week 1 but I made intentionally bad choices because I'm human. Soooo, today is Day 1 again for me as well. (I like the clean-ness of May 1. :)

It's so frustrating that we as humans KNOW how good this is for us but our silly brains talk us out of it sometimes. I'm determined to finish it this time and it sounds like you are too. :) 

This is just one personal experience, but I realized I have to do this one without any fruit at all. It sets off my sugar dragon big time and is what led me to then make poor choices later that day. I had a few oranges at night one night last week because I had a sore throat and within an hour I was convincing myself that May 1 was a better start date ... ahem.  :rolleyes: I don't know how you do with fruit but it's just food for thought. :) 

Hey Jess!

Thanks for the advice with the fruit! I don't have a huge sweet tooth, I have other demons like Angry Orchard and smoking (yuck!). Day 1 was a success, but it was definitely a struggle not wanting to join my husband in a cig. He's quitting soon, I hope! I know I need to do this for my overall health and so that I can be a better role model for my 4 kids. I'll be 30 in December, a new decade, a new life!