Starting July 20th, would love tips, advice, and encouragment

arlamore

Hey everyone!

I've decided to start my first whole30 July 20th, and I'm both nervous and excited.  I'm excited to see what it does for me, and mostly to just prove to myself that I can do it.  I've just felt a little out of control food-wise lately, and I HAVE to deal with it now...thankfully, I don't have any significant health concerns. Yet.  

I'm a teacher in Singapore, so I face a few different challenges in trying to translate some of the recipes or information to the lifestyle and context of Singapore...but that's why I'm starting before the school year begins, so I have the extra time to try and figure it out.  The national past time here is eating out...and as we welcome new staff at the end of the month, they'll be a lot of challenges as we take them around the city and eat out a lot. I'm also a little nervous because I'm really the only one doing it, and while my friends are ok with it...it's not as though they're going to go out of their way to help me out when it gets tough.  

But, I can do this.  Tough love time, it's only food, right?  

Welcome!

My advice to you is keep it simple:

- review the program rules
- ideally eat three meals a day, starting within 1 hour of waking, with protein, veggies and fat at every meal, per recommended the meal template. Look to build meals that satiate you for 4-5 hours. Until you get there, if you're genuinely hungry between meals, have a mini meal of protein, veg and fat.
- the shopping list and Can I Have Guide can be helpful supplemental resources.

Thanks, I've been reading the book and referring to the Whole30 book religiously just in prep time...Day 1 has begun and I'm surprised by the cravings...I see birthday cake on my Facebook feed, and I think 'Man, that would be great right now!"...I keep reminding myself that I really want this.  I don't want to fail, and I don't want to continue the way I've been living.