I just found out I am pregnant a few days ago and started reading a pregnancy book. The book places a lot of value on dairy products for calcium. Has anyone else found this to be true, and if so, did you just take a calcium supplement pill instead? Dairy is NOT my friend, and the book recommends soy milk if that's the case, but if I can just take a supplement, I'd rather do that. This is my first time to be pregnant and my 2nd Whole30, so any tips are welcome! Thanks!

You may be interested in the Dairy Manifesto and this Whole9 article on calcium. Long story short, dairy is not the calcium powerhouse that we've been lead to believe.

Assuming that you've already read It Starts With Food, you may also be interested in Nina Planck's Real Food for Mother and Baby. It's not 100% Whole30 based, but I found it to be much friendlier to Whole30 and paleo-style eating than other pregnancy resources. Fair warning, there are some parts that get into birth intervention (epidurals, c-sections, etc.) that, while I agree with the author's philosophy, I was a little put-off by because I felt that a nutrition book was the wrong platform for that information.

I am still breastfeeding, and I've realized after about 3 weeks on Whole30 that I am not getting enough calcium at all.  I know in the Dairy Manifesto they say that supplementation is not necessary if you eat the right things, but I'm getting crazy foot and leg cramps due to the lack of calcium.  I eat spinach and romaine everyday, but it's not enough obviously.  I am going to add kale more often, but I don't love it that much so, I may start taking a supplement or look for a calcium fortified 100% juice (do those even exist?).  

I got the same foot/leg cramps while pregnant, and had to up my calcium then too.  Pregnancy and breastfeeding really robs your body of nutrients to support the baby, unfortunately.  

• Administrators