A few questions about coconut oil

I haven't yet officially started my W30 but I've started trying a couple new cooking techniques in preparation (I'm hoping to officially start on Monday, August 3). Anyways, I scrambled some eggs the other day using coconut oil and the coconut taste was way too overpowering for my preference. I thought that the oil wasn't supposed to actually leave a coconut taste.Am I just wrong in that line of thinking? Is it possible I used too much? Would I be better off trying ghee? (Something I've never tried before) 

Also, my coconut oil is completely liquid right now due to the heat from the summer. Should I keep it in my fridge during these hotter months so it will solidify again? 

Thank you! 

First off -- welcome! 

Check and see if your coconut oil is refined. If it isn't you will get a coconut flavor -- adding a bit of salt to what you are cooking actually helps to mask or take away the coconut flavor. I have done that with veggies and stir fries and it does a pretty good job of neutralizing the flavor. If you have unrefined coconut oil 'virgin' oil, you can use that for stronger flavored meals and use a neutral oil or ghee for your eggs -- even bacon grease if you have compliant bacon. Or you could also pick up refined coconut oil for cooking your eggs if you would prefer!

Don't worry about your coconut oil melting -- it is still good and it doesn't need to be refrigerated. Coconut can be solid at 76 degrees and melted at 78! 

• Moderators