laurambp

Hi, this is my Whole 30 log. I started on Thursday, October 1st. Because I am a grad school student and am very busy, I will keep all of my cooking very simple for this whole 30.

Background about me: I have a bunch of issues that I'm hoping to solve through Whole30. I have PCOS with insulin resistance and have an issue with falling asleep after almost every meal. I have hypothyroidism that I believe is linked to the PCOS. Also, since June, I've had GI issues that so far have been undiagnosable beyond IBS. I first tried Whole30 back in July but had to quit at day 6 because I felt so miserable. Turns out that I have a sensitivity to egg yolks and red meat, so that's why I was having issues before. Not fun. I also have latex fruit syndrome and cannot eat avocados or bananas.

I have a whole additional laundry list of foods that I can't eat, so honestly, it hasn't been much trouble cutting out a few more. I'm sick of being sick, sick of struggling to lose weight, and am more than ready to do something proactive to help heal my body.

I'm including a lot of the brands of foods I'm eating more for my own personal reference, but also because it might help anyone else who reads this.

Day 1 (October 1):

• Breakfast: Egg white omelette (Aldi egg whites from carton) with peppers, onions, spinach, and mushrooms (bought a pre-sliced and diced "omelette mix" at Whole Foods...such a time saver!)
  • Lunch: baby kale, baby spinach, baby arugula salad (Whole Foods prepackaged greens) mixed with carnitas and mild salsa from Chipotle
  • Dinner: Trader Joe's chile lime chicken burger with 1/2 gold potato and 1/2 bag steamable california blend of veggies (broccoli, carrots, califlower) from Aldi with Tessamae's southwestern ranch sauce. I cooked an extra burger and put all of the leftover veggies in a plastic container for tomorrow.