Whole30 Success at 60: What I Learned

WholeAnita

Yeah, I turned 60 earlier this year. So why not celebrate and do something good for me, right? I read about this Whole 30 on Facebook and it seemed several people were doing it. The more I read, the more I wanted to know. The more I learned, the more I knew this would work for me. That was about 4 months ago. First I tried to think of someone who might join me, and almost talked my sister into it, but in the end she was not ready to commit. That's why it took me until October 1 to start this thing. But I had lots of time over the four months to read It Starts With Food and The Whole 30 before actually starting. Since I'm an elementary teacher and the first month or so of school is INSANE, it is probably good that I waited until October. Today I am just finishing up my "Fast Track" reintroduction. And yes, my life has changed!

I do not own a scale, so all my success is not tied to those numbers. I did not take a before picture or an after picture. I did not do the Whole 30 to lose weight or look different. Not that a few pounds off wouldn't be a good thing, but I got hooked on the psychology of the program. As I read about the Whole 30 I could see doing this would help me break some unhealthy habits. I really wanted to reset my lifestyle in the evening. I was in a rut of being bored and alone, so my thinking was that I might as well escape in TV, eat what I want (more or less), and have a good glass of wine with dinner and right before bed. My sleep consisted of tossing and turning, and I felt down and unmotivated much of the time. I would get in a slump and take myself out for a quick Mexican food dinner several nights a week (my comfort food). I knew I was crashing and wanted to escape this nightly pattern that zapped all my energy, joy, and motivation.