Conflicting Information

Hello, This is my first post and I wasn't sure what exact topic I should have posted this under. First off, I am a huge fan and have had much success with the Whole30 program, so please do not mistake this as an attempt to troll the program. My career as a graduate student will occasionally lead me across a paper that challenges the fundamentals of the program and I wanted to share one with the forum to get an outside opinion. I was just wondering if anyone else had read or heard anything about this and had a scientific opinion.

http://www.pnas.org/content/100/21/12045.short

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/science/science-news/3346666/Mystery-of-the-meat-eaters-molecule.html

Thanks!

• Moderators

I'm no expert on the subject, but it's interesting that they use chimpanzees as an example in the article. Both humans and chimpanzees eat meat, so this would seem to fly in the face of the conclusions of the study.

Chimpanzees do not seem to suffer from heart disease, cancers, rheumatoid arthritis or bronchial asthma - common conditions in humans. Nor do they get sick from the human malaria parasite, which uses sialic acid to latch on to our blood cells.

But that is what I think is so interesting about the design of the study and the conclusions. Both humans and chimps consume meat, but only humans seem to have an inflammatory response to the variation of the sugar found in other mammal tissues because we have an antibody specific to it. I certainly won't be forgoing meat anytime soon, but I think this is definitely interesting.