Difficult work conditions

CathyGo

I'm a fare inspector on the Phoenix light rail. This means that for my entire 11 hour shift I'm on the move except for 1 or 2 15 minute breaks and a 30 minute lunch. I have no place to store a cooler and can only bring what fits in 1 1/2 BDU pant cargo pockets. 1/2 of a pocket is reserved for my water bottle. Thursday and Sunday we typically eat lunch at Jack in the Box or Subway. Fridays and Saturdays it's normally a gourmet hot dog place or Jimmy Johns. My first break is generally within 4 hours of starting shift so I guess I could bring some stuff that needs to be kept cool for a snack but I REALLY can't afford to get food poisoning and I need a decent sized meal later.

What whole 30 compliant foods could I bring given that it's over 100 degrees out? I've seen some small tins of chicken that would work but that would get pretty boring pretty quickly. Some of you guys are pretty creative so I hope you can give me some good suggestions of things to take with me or purchase at fast food places.

I've been keeping an eye on this because I wanted to see others' suggestions - I'm amazed there have been zero replies! 

So the barriers seem to be space and temperature, yes? 

Would your colleagues be open to trying other places for lunch? It's only 30 days. Perhaps you could research menus of places nearby and find somewhere that would satisfy your colleagues but also give you compliant options? I found this article that might help? http://www.lifehealthhq.com/whole30-restaraunts/ Of course beware of those that say "omit protein" as you obviously need that as part of the template! This is a decent article, too, though I don't recognize most of the restaurants listed. http://www.mypaleos.com/paleo-fast-food-options-in-a-pinch/

I am prepared for the backlash from this suggestion, but since no one else is offering ANYTHING, this would be my two cents: