Whole120

ellie4

Day Zero:

So, back in February/March I was the overly ambitious person determined to do this Whole30 thing until I graduated college, which was 832 days away at the time. Honestly, I got a kick out of how ambitious that was and was going along fine, but then I decided to have food sensitivity testing done. That showed that I was sensitive to a ton of my staple foods and I was so overwhelmed by several sources of good but slightly different paleo variations plus the testing that I didn't know what to do and, you guessed it, went back to a SAD. 

And, most of why I was doing this in the first place was that I was hoping it would help to manage my headache disorder (like it seemed to a previous time that I ate paleo). But it really wasn't. So it also felt silly to keep restricting my diet when it wasn't doing what I hoped it would do anyway.

But then, fast forward to July when I go for my annual asthma checkup, and my lung function was WAY worse. My 2015 test I had done while eating paleo and NOT being on medicine, and that was at 79% (80% is considered well controlled). This year, while being ON medicine but eating a "standard American diet" my lung function was at 60%, which is the upper border of severe asthma. Not good, not good. *Especially* considering that I am a music student who plays a wind instrument. How well controlled my asthma is has a direct affect on my ability to progress musically, which could eventually affect my ability to make a career in music. I want to do whatever I can to get my asthma back under control.