Post dinner cravings

whole30texan

Helloooooo Whole 30 friends!

Newbie here. Day 12. Truly enjoying this process! My one struggle that I seem to battle every night is wanting something "sweet" after dinner. Last night, I had a cup of apple cider (bought some for a recipe), then a box of raisins. Ugh.... The previous night I had a half of a banana with almond butter and raisins. I know these are all "approved" foods but this is certainly not helping my sugar dragon. :(

A few questions - 

1. Do these sweet snacks warrant a restart? 

2. What suggestions do you guys have on how to battle this post dinner sugar dragon? Is a small serving of fruit okay after dinner? 

Thank y'all so much for your help and I'm happy to be part of the club!!! :)

• Administrators

Hey @whole30texan - sugar cravings, especially after dinner, are pretty common.

First, make sure you are getting enough sleep. If you are getting sugar-cravey around what should be bedtime, just go to bed. Your body wants sleep but that can manifest as the desire for sugar.

Second, sugar cravings, especially late day ones, can be caused by what you are eating earlier in the day. Why don't you post a few days of typical meal, including portion sizes as related to the template and we can take a look and see if anything stands out.

Restarting is only required if you ingest something that is off plan.

We do not recommend anyone use fruit as a stand in for sugar cravings because all your body knows is that it cried for something sweet and you gave it fruit. Mission accomplished. The only way to kill off sugar cravings is to starve them out or eat the opposite and in that case it would be fat. But let's look at what you've been doing and see if there are some tweaks you can make.