Timing of meals and exercise...night float

mdjess86

Hey guys, I’m a surgery resident and this is my 3rd whole 30. I’ve successfully done whole 30 while being a surgery resident now a few times as have a couple of my friends, so it can be done, but I’m having kind of a new dilemma. I’m currently on night float, which means I work 5pm-6am every day except I only work 2 hrs on friday for conference and I don’t work at all saturdays. So Sunday-Thursday night I’m at work for 13 hrs. This isn’t really that different from day shift, but on days I can usually delay meal 1 until 7am (I try to eat a hard boiled egg when I wake up) but on nights I have to eat right when I get to work at 5, otherwise I’m busy and I end up not getting to eat until very late. I then try to wait until 11 or 12 to eat, but as that’s 6-7 hours in between I’m starving by then. I’d like to eat dinner after I get home so I have one nicely cooked meal eaten at a table once a day, but that means I have to wait until at least 6:30 if not 7:30 in the morning if I work out. This leaves another 7-9 hours between meals. 

So here is my question. When I look at it, that’s actually not a ridiculous meal schedule even for the day time, and I’m wondering, should my meals be able to keep me full that long? I’m already eating 2 of my meals at work, I would really prefer not to eat all 3, but if that’s what everyone thinks is best I’ll do it. When I get home I usually work out, eat dinner then wash my face and stuff and try to go to sleep around 8:30, then I wake up around 4 at the latest to get ready for work.