Whole???

ellie4

Day Zero - July 23, 2018

Hello. My name is Sarah, and I am a student at the University of Kansas. I am shifting back to a Whole/AIP way of eating after a few years of eating SAD. I used to eat paleo and/or autoimmune paleo, and I have known for a while that I need to get going with it again. I have four chronic illnesses - New Daily Persistent Headache, Hypermobility Spectrum Disorder, Upper Airway Resistance Syndrome, and Asthma.  I am very hopeful that eating Whole/AIP will help to improve my symptoms from these conditions, as well as my health overall. (See below for specific information on what these are and how eating Whole/AIP could help manage these conditions.)

I have previously used this forum as a way to help myself stick to Whole eating. The first time I did really well for about six weeks, but then I started working with a nutritionist who was totally wacko and it really messed things up. She had me try a really weird and strict elimination diet that was totally wrong for my body, and I ended up feeling so terrible and frustrated that I abandoned everything paleo and went back to a SAD. I tried restarting paleo on my own later that year, but I was still basing what I ate largely on what I had learned from the wacko nutritionist, so I again started feeling pretty terrible. Also, I had some pretty stressful stuff going on in my life, and I had gotten stuck with a class schedule (that I couldn't change) that didn't give me any time to eat during the day. Overall, not a great time to try to revamp my way of eating. I think I made it about 3 weeks that time before going back to a SAD.