Pickled Penny

Malfaitrice

So, here it goes:

I am completely new to all of this. I wouldn't say I believe in any particular type of eating pattern or lifestyle besides common sense, I do think it gets you very far... Skeptical as I am or have been of Paleo in general, I however don't think that is a good enough reason NOT to try a Whole 30. Why not go completely cold turkey on basically a bunch of things that my common sense (not a book, not the latest medical headline in the tabloids) has been telling me I need to cut down on or try and eliminate from the food I eat? I see this as a trial in reevaluating and rebuilding my relationship to food, which used to be good but has slowly deteriorated over the past year or so (coincidentally when my boyfriend moved in, who lives on carbs and sugar).

I need to start taking better care of my body. I'm constantly tired and have experienced a mild depression a while back that I do not want to return to. Although that might just be the lack of sun in Sweden this time of year, I have a feeling these things absolutely go hand in hand with general health, nutrition and sense of comfort or confidence in oneself. After having succeeded in excluding sugar completely before (took a whole lot of effort, but my stubbornness got me through, that time), I quickly returned to my cookie monster ways with a sense of accomplishment I think only a smoker who quits smoking just to prove they can quit at any time - simply to pick it back up again - can feel. I need to not only quit stuffing myself with bad foods and toxins for quitting's sake; I need to do it because I can, because I want to and because I believe we as thinking, critical human beings have a responsibility to ourselves, others and our planet to do so. More on the last bit later...

Anyways, Day 1: