Amazed and VERY Grateful!

kruzmeister

Hi everyone, I just wanted to report that I have finished my first Whole30 and am now on week 2 of my 2nd. I have been so amazed by the results I have just continued on with the program.

8 weeks ago I was miserable, I take medication for bipolar which saw me gain weight almost instantly and to top it off I was a complete slave to the sugar dragon and used to self sabotage by binge eating frequently. I am a triathlete and ever since I started training I have struggled with nutrition and the "sugar laden" fuel endurance sports tell you to practically live off for workouts.

After starting my new meds in Oct and putting on 7 kilos in 9 weeks I basically gave myself a kick in the pants and said, do you want to be an obese spectator and feel sorry for yourself for the rest of your life, or do you want to be the hero of your own story and do whatever it takes to reach your dreams. After reading about Whole30 on a Beginner Triathlete forum thread I visited this site. I read about how many people in my situation (binge eaters) had beaten or at least tamed the sugar dragon. I honestly wondered if it was possible. In the end I decided what have I got to lose?

I knew it would be tough, but I stuck it out. Actually it ended up being a lot easier than I thought it would be. I kept telling myself, this is your fourth leg of your triathlon training, you need to stick it out. After 30 days the results for me are just nothing short of amazing! Whole30 has completely changed my relationship with food and I am no longer a sugar addict with cravings and blood sugar levels that were way out of control. I've since had blood tests (before and after) and I am no longer bordering on type II diabetes, my cholesterol is now in the normal range and my blood pressure is perfect. Not only that but the side effects of the medication I take for my illness have practically ceased also!