Pai's Whole30 Log

Paichka

Hey all!

So I decided to start this log because I'm going it alone in the Whole30 challenge. Thankfully the hubs is supportive and not trying to derail me, but he's also not participating. The kiddos aren't participating either -- they eat Paleo at home, but I can't control what the daycare feeds them. So, it's just me. I've been eating Paleo since March, after a few months off the wagon -- it's amazing how much better I feel ALREADY. I'm down 11 lbs total, but in honor of the Whole30 I've banished my scale to the back of my closet. :)

So a little about me -- I'm a 29 year old mom of two (The Gremlin and The Monster), married to my wonderful husband of almost 6 years, Mr. Pai. I'm a captain in the Army, but I've been on school status for three years while I attended law school. I take the bar in 6 weeks, then I report for training at the end of the summer. I'm really looking forward to getting back in the saddle after all this time as a civilian. Anyway, I've always been active -- I rowed in college and got into mid-distance running in a big way during my first deployment, as well as weight lifting. I gained 40lbs with my daughter but lost it all fairly quickly -- I gained another 40 with my son and while most of it came off relatively quickly, I was left with about 10lbs in a tire around my midsection. Between two kids and trying to finish up law school, I wasn't taking care of myself AT ALL -- running on minimum sleep, eating a bunch of crap (snickers bars), and drinking more bottles of wine than I'd care to admit. Seriously, that "make your own carton" of wine at Safeway was designed for me and Mr. Pai.