Day 5, Help!

Jenn B

Just looking for encouragement!

I am mid way through day 5, and I am hungry, even though I just had a decent "meal 2". I usually work out 6-7 days a week, but have skipped most days this week, and will force myself to go to a spin class tonite. Without my bmi scale, I am waiting for results as I cannot track them! In lieue of experiencing obvious results, I am keeping detailed notes on what I am experiencing each day (from my digestive functions to that hour before I go to bed). I have had my food dreams, gone through headaches (only on day 1), feeling not inclined to work out, but now, I am missing (believe it or not) my chewing gum!! I have sworn it off.

I work as a ski instructor on weekends, and this will be my first weekend on Whole30. I am sure I will do fine, I have packed my meals for years to avoid paying for the junk they have available in the cafeteria. My concern, right now, I could just eat. I am not hungry. It is the craving, I have not had that craving sensation up to this point!

Do you get the daily emails? I know you're already in it, so signing up now might be a hassle, I don't know.

Anyway, something that helps me through the cravings is thinking about the mechanics behind it a little. My brain is trying to talk me into things because it is basically throwing a temper tantrum. For me, it wants sugar and it wants it now. I have a toddler, and when she throws a fit the best thing to do is to just ignore it. It may get more intense at first, but it goes away faster the better I ignore it. The same is true with the cravings. The better I attempt to ignore it (not even giving it fruit), the more intense it gets at first, but the faster it goes away. It may take a few days, but it does go away and when it does, that's a truly empowering, amazing feeling! It's a feeling you earned by sticking with the program through the hard parts.