Day 4, snack attack (kinda)

Melina Simonds

Hi Everyone. This is my first Whole30. I am feeling pretty good today, some of my goals are to stop my over snacking, especially at work, I am a teacher and there are always lots of crackers and breads ALL the time! I am not making the same choices as before but I am having trouble sticking to the 3 meals a day and no snacking. Today I snacked between each meal, I ate some of the healthy options in the children's snacks: a few orange slices & olives. I think I didn't eat a big enough breakfast and started to feel anxious/hungry (I'm not sure) and I ate one small spoonful of sunbutter, and then I looked at the ingredients and it had sugar, oops!

One of the things I was dealing with this weekend was an upset, growly stomach and indigestion. I felt like maybe I was eating too much protein at some meals, that is why I cut down to one egg for breakfast. I think tomorrow I will go back to 2 eggs for breakfast.

Any tips on the snacking? I feel like I am making WAY better choices than before and not eating nearly as much! But I get that anxiety/hungry thing... maybe a psychological response coupled with not eating enough?? Do you all feel that it is very important to do three square meals?

Thanks for reading :) I'm glad to be here and to be doing the Whole30!

Hi Melina, there's no denying that 3 meals a day is ideal as the meal template shows http://whole9life.com/book/ISWF-Meal-Planning-Template.pdf

However, as you said, at the beginning it's a bit of trial and error to find out how much you need at each meal to tide you over to the next one. A snack should basically be a mini-meal, a small amount of protein, fat and veg. As the book says fruit & veg alone shouldn't be used for a snack as it's not very satiating on it's own.