Newbie - Starting on April 3rd!

kelliemcd

Hi there!

I am completely new to Whole30 and would absolutely love some advice! I'm very excited to begin next Monday, and am reading up on everything my eyes and brain can handle before then to get myself ready. Because of my work schedule and budget, I am most apprehensive about the cost of all these groceries, and how often I should typically cook meals (leftover lunches work great with my work schedule, and I am beyond tired when I get home in the evenings after work, so cooking lengthy meals probably wouldn't work well for me). I do love a good variety when it comes to meals, I get bored quickly of eating the same things over and over again which in the past has led to snacking, or eating things I know I shouldn't! 

I am currently trying to plan a good weekly schedule with the meal planner tool that is available online..Any advice for a newbie cook on how many dinners to cook to consolidate grocery shopping and minimize costs for one person? Any advice is greatly appreciated, as well as other Whole30 friends! 

• Moderators

You might prefer something like a weekly cook up, where you prep several proteins and a bunch of vegetables, plus a couple of sauces or dips and other fats once a week, and then mix and match those at each meal. Follow this link and scroll down to the article The Method Behind my Madness, and just above it, the one called Great Ingredients, No Recipes Required, and see if those make sense for you, instead of planning multiple recipes throughout the week:  https://meljoulwan.com/paleo-101/

I'm starting the second! I'm happy to be a buddy if you want.

I hate cooking, so it's often a struggle for me on Whole30. You just HAVE to cook to eat right on the plan. I often do what Shannon suggested and just cook up several different meats, sides, and sauces to mix and match (only recently on the sauces, though. Thanks, The Whole30 book!).