The Whole30... Samoan style

dellydel44

So this is my first attempt at this WHOLE 30 challenge. Here's a little about myself...

I'm a 29 year old Samoan woman. I am not sure if a lot of you know what my nationality entails but if you do, you are well aware of our physique, large and in charge! I have been fairly large my entire life. I come from a large military father and a slender hard working mother, along with 3 STOCKY brothers. From the day I was born at 9 lbs and 8oz until today where I am about 300lbs, standing at 5'8. I was an athlete from the age 5 and always maintained an overweight status. I knew it wasn't normal because I was bigger then majority of the boys in my class and definitely bigger then ALL the girls in my class. I mean a lot of the times I got teased, up until I stood up for myself or out ran the person who made fun of me. I built up the reputation of being kind but also tough enough to let you know I don't stand down from someone making fun of me because of my weight, or any of my friends.

I had an apptetite from the day I can remember. My dad also reminds me how great of an eater I was when I was a baby! "Oh we could just give you a bottle and you would drink it down and be content for hours", is what he always yaps about when we talk about which one of us kids was the easiest to take care of. You see I have been dealing with food being my "opt" out to anything since I was a baby... ok jokes.

No but really... I was an eater. I was bribed with food and it worked. i did whatever I needed to do if someone said "I'll buy you McDonalds" or "I bet you a #3 at JIB:you wouldn't do it" or my all time favorite "If you get on base I'll buy you a slice of cheesecake"... which is so true, because in college during my hitting slump I was bribed with cheesecake , my MOST FAVORITE DESSERT ON EARTH, to get a hit. Which I must admit worked!! Up until I was 28 I would eat ... ALOT...