Newby as of June 1

Vembra

Very glad to be connected here.  I am new to Paleo and with a prompting from my daughter (who eats Paleo with her Cross-fit boyfriend) encouraged me to go for the Whole30.  It has been an interesting journey so far.  I was a serial Diet Coke drinker and did I say yet, a daily wine drinker. I actually kicked off eating Paleo on Mother's Day but didn't give up the DC or Wine.  Now, five days into it I have survived.  

I am enjoying the new recipes and being creative. I do love to cook but notice that there is serious planning and prep to have the right foods on hand.  After I did the pantry/ refrig purge the cupboards were bare for a while but I am all stocked up now.  I think summer must be the perfect time to start this process as all the great farmers markets are in full swing.  

I am using the Non Nom Paleo app on my Ipad and it has become my staple like veges in my kitchen.  Today I have the slow cooker Kalue Pork going on and look forward to that little treat.  

I do have one question for you.  I notice that my "drinking" all day included several DCokes/ then wine at night.  Now while I am drinking plenty of water I am a little bored with just plain water.  Any suggestions to change it up.  I tried Decaf Green tea w/o sweetener - Not my cup of tea.  I do like Pellegrino with Lime.  It's a nice treat at the end of the day and put it in a wine glass to make me feel as though I am experiencing something really special..   I would be happy to learn if there are any other options.  surely cave men and women had something besides water?????   Just saying...  

I drink black coffee, water, mineral water, and kombucha for the most part. I like tea (you have to try until you find something you like - be careful to read ingredients you would be surprised).

You can also jazz up plain water with a little lemon, lime, or other fruit. I used to use frozen fruit as ice a lot.