Handing out Nutritional Advice

I really didn't know where to post this question so I thought this might be the best place.

I am an Optometrist and I practice in a small rural town in Alabama. My practice mainly consists of lower income families who are plagued by conditions such as diabetes, hypertension, obesity, and childhood obesity to name a few. I am not their primary physician or family doctor but I am often times the only doctor these people see. (If I am not the only Doctor they see they are often poorly controlled with their current medical therapy)

There have been several situations where I have come really close to giving out nutritional advice but I just don't feel comfortable since I am an Eye Doctor. A lot of these families are on government assistance for food and while they can get meats, veggies, and fruits with that, I feel that often times they opt for the quick, convenient snacks in a package, frozen meals, and highly processed foods. Are these people going to do a Whole30? Probably not (I wish they would) but I would consider it a win if they would just stop eating junk. Am i out of place? They are not going to hear it from their medical doctor, and at least I am not just some random stranger telling them about this. 

Are there any of you in the medical profession (doctors, nurses, optometrists, dentists, ANYONE) who may be in a similar situation and how did you handle it.

How would you approach these situations?, what would you say?, or would you not say anything? Am I trying to save the world?

I feel that turning a blind eye would not help anything whereas if I did start to approach this with some people I may inspire them to eat better. 

How would you feel if your eye doctor gave you nutritional advice?