Lisa's Paleo Life Begins!

Lisa W.

A couple of days ago I told myself I was going to go ahead and begin the Paleo lifestyle. A friend has been doing her second Whole30 and has been posting amazing photos. Pair that with the general feeling that I NEED to make serious lifestyle changes and well, I bought the ISWF book. LOL And got advice from my friend.

Today, July 31, 2012 I committed to doing this both on my FaceBook and here in these forums. I went grocery shopping and replaced just about everything in my fridge! I have a lot of ground beef, ground chicken, chicken breasts and frozen tilapia filets and frozen shrimp and even more veggies!! For fruit I just got strawberries and green grapes. I don't really like fruit.

I work as a manager in a retail store, so I work a lot and I work long shifts where I cannot cook or even sit down to eat. LOL! And of course, tomorrow, my first Whole30 day, I'm working 9 hours, beginning early in the morning. Soooooooo, I'm starting to cook now. I know preparation is the MAJOR hurdle I will face doing this. I already LIKE the foods, and I already know what it takes to be extremely strict and disciplined with food. The part that's new for me is no grains AND having a full time job at the same time.

So right now I am slow-cooking several chicken breasts. And I have the items set out to make the paleo mayonaise so that I can THEN make the paleo ranch dressing! I plan to make a frittata tonight for breakfast tomorrow and I think I'm going to boil some sweet potatoes and mash them to have with the chicken for lunch. Probably saute up some of the veggies I got and put them on top of the chicken in the tupperware. And take the strawberries and grapes as my nibble snacks at work.