From Carboholic to Whole30: immersion therapy

Cassie C

So my boyfriend and I (we live together) are beginning our Whole 30 on Friday.

We eat like garbage.  Meals out of boxes, take-out, frozen dinners... I have whole days sometimes where I'm hard placed to find a meal that contained much more than grain/baked goods.  It's awful.

I struggle with anxiety.  I also experience occasional migraines and some pretty intense allergies.  My boyfriend would like to lose some weight and eliminate some stomach troubles. We're both frequently fatigued.  My doctor planted the seed that diet could be influencing MOST of these things and suddenly a light bulb went off.  I'm not a stupid person!  I have a master's degree and yet I somehow always convinced myself that I could get by on my trashy diet.  When I heard of the Whole 30 through a Facebook post I decided that enough was enough!  A rule-centered type-A like me can do this - and I NEED to do this.  It's time to feel better.

SO...  I've been reading the website and "It Starts With Food" and....

Today I spent half my life savings on vitamins at Whole Foods and also picked up some staples like coconut milk, coconut oil, coconut aminos (I'm sensing a trend here...), ghee, hot sauce, mustard, canned meat, and broth.  I didn't know what ghee was a week ago.  I was laughing in Whole Foods at myself buying ghee.  Whole Foods shoppers eyed me suspiciously in the asian/ethnic foods aisle.

Then I cleared just about everything out of my kitchen.  No, neighbors, I have not been stock piling my trash for three weeks, just clearing out my cupboards!  Aside from what I bought at WF today, only hot sauce, mustard, macadamia nuts, almonds, and tea remain.  It's pretty funny.  :)

I've planned a week's worth of meals (GOD BLESS PINTEREST) and made my grocery list for tomorrow so I'm set to go on Friday morning.... most of my close friends and coworkers know we're doing this so no turning back now...