Newbie questions - How much fruit can I eat? Can I drink tea between meals?

Hello fellow Whole9 members,

I am a newbie to Whole9 and I plan to start the Whole30 this coming Monday (18 August).

I'm sorry if this topic has been repeated 139487293847 times in the forum...

I've read through the rules a couple of times and I am hoping to get a better understanding of how much fruit I can have while on the Whole30. Is it one piece per day, or one piece every 2-3 days? Any help would be great.

I know snacking isn't permitted between meals but are herbal teas (i.e. peppermint/camomile) compliant between meals?

Also, when is the best time to have my morning coffee? Straight after breakfast?

Thanks in advance,

Nancy

Fruit isn't excluded, snacking on fruit alone isn't recommended, 1-2 pieces a day with meals is reasonable for most active people, less if you are trying to lose weight or manage sugar cravings or kill a sugar dragon

Coffee before breakfast isn't recommended if it suppresses your appetite, haven't read of any other specific timing recommendations.

".....but I'll add the "official Hartwig opinion" here.

There are very few reasons I can think of to give up fruit entirely, or purposefully limit intake. For one, let's not confuse fruit with fructose. Fruit isn't sugar - fruit is a whole food, with a whole host of vitamins, minerals, phytochemicals, fiber, water. And yes, it contains some sugar, but that's not the same as sugar.