snacking

Hi,

I'm on day 8. I have been tired and spacey the last few days. I find that I get hungry between meals. I work till 7 or 8pm 3 nights a week, and it's hard to go from lunch and wait till later to have dinner. I've been munching on almonds or a boiled egg or a paleo banana muffin (almond flour, eggs, bananas, chia, coconut oil, spices). This is my first time doing the Whole30 and I'm wondering if I'm missing something, or is it okay to have a snack if I feel hungry/light-headed.

Thanks for your help!

• Administrators

Hi Minty!

We discourage "snacking" but encourage "eating".  ;)

Snacking is hand to mouth, all day grazing and it is discouraged.  If you are having to go from lunch until around 8pm for dinner, of course you're going to need to eat.  We would recommend that you eat a mini meal of protein, fat and ideally also veggies.  If you are able though, can you bring a full sized meal to eat around 5-6pm and then either have nothign for the rest of the night or the mini meal when you get home? That's a long time to go between meals.

If you are hungry between meals, also have a mini meal but then start to use that information of hunger between meals to tweak your meals and make them larger so that you don't get hungry for 4-5 hours.

The paleo "muffin" you describe would not be compliant on Whole30, part of our SWYPO, No Baked Goods rules (see the rules linked in my signature below).

Thank you for the clarification.The muffins will stay in the freezer or be shared with my gluten-free friends.

I have been doing the snack as a mini meal and not continuously through the day.