First Whole 30 -with ME/CFIDS

FlyingCrow

Hello

I'm on day 8 now of my Whole30 - I had big ideas at the beginning that I would keep a detailed log here and update every day, but as I often do I was rather over estimating my current abilities. My energy levels are currently about 30% of normal which means if I want to be out of bed every day I need to remain housebound. Going out causes Post Exertional Malaise, which means days in bed. If I stay in I can manage around 15 minutes of very gentle yoga every day, as well as pottering around doing light chores and some painting ( I am an artist) which is essential to my mental health.

So on the negative side the extra cooking involved has been draining - the first weekend, days 1 & 2, I managed to overdo it completely with prepping in advance and ended up spending the following two days in bed. Not a great start, but since then I've been doing little bits here and there, which has worked much better and I feel like I'm beginning to get a rhythm going. The food processor has become my best friend and I'm awaiting delivery on a spiralizer!

Headaches and general fatigue are part of daily life for me so I don't know if I'm just getting my 'normal' ones or if I'm experiencing effects of the whole30! Chances are it's the former as the only foods I'm not eating that I normally would are dark chocolate and some dairy and dried fruit a few times a week - oh and food additives of course!

That said I have still had a few cravings - and last night was quite hard as my husband was away, attending an interview, and I felt a bit lonely. But I got through it.

I seem to be eating enormous amounts of food, and have had to split my lunch into a slightly smaller portion and a mini meal a couple of hours later, but I feel much better now I've done that - I was getting a mid afternoon lull, so I probably wasn't eating enough at lunchtime before.