Young supermamma breast cancer survivor first whole30

nicholedvm

I'm a 42 year old breast cancer survivor busy mom with 2 precious children aged 5 (boy) and 8 (girl) who are my world! I am also a veterinarian and own and practice at two hospitals while still being a present mom and doing the whole 30 for the first time! My reason is my children and my desire to live to see their weddings, college graduations and their children. I'm still learning to navigate this so if I am doing something wrong forgive me. I'm doing my food log for today which is not perfect but it is compliant I believe. I would love to hear from others on the program if you wish to connect! 

Breakfast - Ok I could not get myself to eat much as I was groggy and not very hungry so I just ate an apple with some almond butter and snacked on some nuts and dried fruit while working

Lunch- chicken breast tortilla soup at a restaurant (made from scratch) with no cheese or tortilla strips added and a few more nuts/dried mango afterward

dinner- chicken legs (2) with sauteed veggies (green beans, mushrooms, asparagus, carrots, white potato) and a green salad with olive oil and balsamic 

(two cups of coffee with almond milk in between meals)

I am trying to eat the least amount of food that satisfies me without being hungry- now I'm wondering if I'm eating too little? I plan to be back on track with my usual egg scrambles tomorrow morning. 

Hey there & welcome to whole30ville - you've done good in making it here - that's the first step!

You know your breakfast wasn't great, but it IS important to make the effort and eat meal one within an hour of wakening. It's key in getting your hormones back into check & will set you up for the day. Try to stick to the meal template as the fruit, nut butter & dried fruit combo will only set your blood sugar levels soaring in the morning, followed by a huge dip later in the day causing faux hunger, cravings, fatigue etc etc etc....