Turkey leg at fair?

mymeow

Hi!  I'm new to this and starting Monday, but trying to plan things in advance.  I know we're going to the Renaissance Festival next weekend and am trying to think of what I can have, if anything.  If I have a turkey leg will I be staying on plan?  I am guessing big pickles are out because I'm thinking there is added sugar?  Any suggestions?  Thanks for your help!

• Administrators

Hi meow!  You really just have to ask. Technically a roasted turkey leg should be fine....but if they baste it with brown sugar for that yummy sticky skin then no go.  Or if they marinate it in something that has non compliant ingredients then it's out.  You really just have to ask.  But picking out the turkey leg is a good place to start!

• Administrators

It it's just something brushed on skin, well that's a pretty fine line and a choice I personally think you would have to make.  If the item is marinated then no, based on the idea of a marinade, it would penetrate the meat. 

Since it's a fair, can you bring a cooler and your own food and make it a picnic?

• Moderators

Good idea, I'll mention that to the friends we are going with :)

Even if you don't bring a big cooler with enough for them, you can get personal-sized coolers and take food for yourself. I've even seen some cute coolers that looked like oversized purses -- although if you're going in costume, it would definitely look out of place.

The last time I went to Scarborough Faire, which is the renaissance fair near me, they had a stand with baked sweet potatoes or baked potatoes. They were offering them topped with butter and cinnamon sugar for the sweet potatoes or the traditional butter, sour cream, etc. for the regular potatoes, but I think they added that as they served -- if they had such a stand where you're going, you could get just a plain one of either. But unless the fair has a website with a list of food options, you can't really plan on that being there.