What if I do not have symptoms?

Allia

Hello! I am very new to Whole30 and have not even started it yet. However, I'm having trouble understanding what it will do for me if I do not have any reactions to gluten, dairy, legumes, or sweeteners/sugars. Is it "healthier" to just avoid those even if I don't have symptoms?

I apologize if this is a repeat.

• Moderators

It is healthier to avoid these foods even if you don't notice negative reactions to them when you reintroduce. However, the chances of you not feeling better after you have had these out of your system for 30 days is low. A fair number of people can reintroduce these foods and not notice negative symptoms when they do. However, if they go back to eating like they did before, they go back to feeling like they did before. 

Why is it healthier to avoid these foods? o.o The reason I am asking is that well, there are certain dishes that are important to me because I want to preserve my culture (I'm Chinese) like dumplings/noodles/flatbreads, and I would like to incorporate them in my diet, only not in a "___ dragon addiction" way.

Moreover, I am also not at a healthy weight (at least for my body. I'm a teenager, so a little less than 80 lbs at 4'11" may not sound that low!), and I am not sure if "forbidden foods" will have a place in a healthy weight gain strategy for me, if I still tolerate them.

• Moderators

The best explanation of why particular foods are out during a Whole30 is found in the book It Starts with Food by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig. They explain with reference to four categories how some foods make people less healthy. If you don't have access to the book, they posted a variety of "Manifesto" articles on the blog over the years that provide a lot of explanation. Here is a link - http://whole30.com/category/manifesto-series/