Salmon Cakes - Stand-alone or Not?

SconnieGirl

Hi there, I'm brand new to all of this and in the process of working through my first meal planning to start on 1/4/16.

I see the recipe for no-fuss salmon cakes as a "one pot meal". From what I was reading, I was understanding the one pot meals to be everything for that meal in one recipe. But the sample meal plan for week 1 (pg. 196 of the cookbook), as well as additional commentary on the salmon cakes recipe, states to have the salmon cakes with other foods. For example, the meal plan suggests having the salmon cakes with butternut squash soup and green beans/onions/mushrooms/peppers. 

That's a big difference to me! So I'm not sure if the salmon cakes really are everything I would need for a meal or if I should go with the additional sides. 

Thanks in advance for your help!

Yep, I'd definitely go with the additional sides.

Have you seen the >recommended meal template<?

As you'll see each meal is recommended to be made up of 1-2 palm sized pieces of protein (that's the length, breadth & depth of your palm), 1-3 cups of veg (with 3 being optimal), and a generous serving of fat (say a dollop of compliant/home-made  mayo, half an avocado, a handful of olives for example). Bear in mind also that the template is the minimum recommendation and it's absolutely okay to eat more should you need to do so to remain satiated for the suggested 4-5hrs.

I'd probably have the salmon cakes with a big ass salad or similar, otherwise I'd be chewing my elbow within an hour or so, and we don't want you to go hungry!!