How is it possible to dine out?

Cburnem14

Hey, newbie here. I'm just wondering how is it possible to eat out at resturants, I feel like it's impossible to know what all ingredients are actually included, if you guys could just line me out on the best dos and donts. Thanks!

You have to be willing to be THAT person -the one who asks a gazillion questions and makes a special order. You also have to be prepared to carefully inspect your food and send it back if it's not right. I found it easier to skip the dining out

• Administrators

If you google "Whole30 dining out" you'll get lots of links.  Here are some to get you started:

http://www.lifehealthhq.com/whole30-restaraunts/

http://www.realfoodwithdana.com/whole30-restaurant-survival-guide/

http://whole9life.com/2012/11/dining-out-whole30/

If you do the google search above you'll also get the link to the Whole30 Dining Out Guide which is in PDF form.

Google is your best bet when you have common questions such as these.  Almost every question or concern that you can think of has been asked and answered many times.

• 3 weeks later...

I have found it easiest to pick a restaurant and then research. In the last year or so more and more helpers are posting this stuff online. Case in point, last week my co-workers were running to get take-out from Buffalo Wild Wings. A quick search indicated their plain traditional wings, without any sauce or seasonings, are fine because they are simply fried, unbreaded, in beef tallow. With a sprinkle of my own salt they were delicious.

Many restaurants have something you can manage this way. If you only eat out occasionally, it is a fun challenge to simply go with the most compliant thing you can find on the menu, realizing you may be inadvertently off-roading; restaurant beef pot roast likely has a little dextrose in the seasoning and some cornstarch or flour in the gravy. But it's a better choice than the fettucine Alfredo. I do carry my own olive oil vinaigrette for salads.