Whole30 Wanna Be - Starting August 1st maybe?

VBurg12

Hi!

So, I've never tried Whole30 before but I would definitely like to! A few of my cousins have given it a shot with good results, one of them just started a second round. I have been having an issue with my weight not going down.  I've kind of already started following a bit of the Whole30 on my own, as I seem to have an issue with some grains/gluten.  I have not been able to pin-point what exactly, but I have been enjoying edamame as a snack, and using mainly quinoa and chia seeds as a replacement for grains.  I do eat rice occasionally as well so I know that will have to stop, but generally, my diet has been heavy on the protein more and more. I used to be a pescatarian, but I have low iron and had to re-add in red meat.

But I am also apprehensive about doing Whole30, as I have some dietary restrictions. I have an issue with dairy (I've been lactose intolerant most of my life) and use soy, almond, and coconut milk as a substitute for regular milk. It's the only way that I get any kind of calcium in my diet besides gummy vitamins, but I can survive without it as well, as I had not discovered any of those at one point and just didn't do dairy for a bit. But I also take the gummy vitamins to up my Vitamin D, iron, and B-12, as I am deficient in all of those (despite living in Florida and soaking up way too much sun). I have tried the horse pill supplements but discovered that my stomach just doesn't break them down.  Also discovered that my stomach doesn't soak in the vitamins via blood tests, but gummies seem to help a bit. I'm willing to try not taking vitamins and just getting them from food, but I can be picky and have some other allergies.

I have read a few other threads on the forums but have not gotten the book yet.....

So! A few questions!

Are any alternative milks okay? Soy? Almond? Coconut? Cashew?