In need of quick lunch ideas!

AmyEWang

Hi Whole30 family, 

I am new to Whole30 and was hoping I could get some feedback on quick lunch ideas for my husband. My husband is a resident and has sporadic lunch times (that's if he gets time or remembers to eat). We have not started the program, as I just received the book, but I wanted to get some ideas for him. As of right now, his lunches consists of a turkey sandwiches, vegetables and fruit. It's quick, doesn't require much effort, and he can eat on the go. 

Any suggestions are welcomed!

Canned chicken or tuna with homemade mayo (takes 5 min with an immersion blender and room temp egg, light olive oil, and mustard powder) or mashed avocado and you can add veggies to that (carrot or celery) or have them on the side. A piece of fruit wouldn't hurt, it's recommended to have no more than 1-2 pieces a day and with a meal, not by itself as a snack.

• Moderators

Meatballs (meljoulwan.com has a lot of different flavoring ideas), grilled chicken cut into strips, frittatas are all good hot or cold and easy to eat. Pair with salads (and not just leafy green ones -- Google whole30 broccoli salad, or beet salad, or potato salad, or go to meljoulwan.com and use the search button there to search salad, she has several that aren't just piles of lettuce), leftover roasted vegetables, vegetable soups. Add olives or guacamole or mayo for dipping for the fat.

I cook 1lb of ground chicken (light and dark meat mixed) with homemade goya sazon seasoning every few days.  I send my honey off to work with a scoop of ground chicken, 5 butter lettuce leaves (or romaine), a handful of grape tomatoes, an avocado, with an apple or pear and sometimes a lime.  

The ground chicken also works well well as a salad on spinach.  

20170122_211942.JPG