Pure Whey Protein Powder....

justtherightfit

Hi! I just started the Whole 30 and I can't eat eggs either. I'm so sensitive I end up doubled over with stomach pain! I'm a fitness trainer and I workout out hard most mornings and I've always had a whey protein shake mixed with coconut milk for breakfast before my workout. I use a pure grass-feed, hormone free, non-denatured brand that has no additives or sweetners. Can I keep using this for breakfast? I can't eat meat before my workout it sits like lead in my stomach and I can't workout without eating. Any suggestions?

nope. no whey during your whole 30.

Breakfast should be a meal according the template, so: 1 or 2 palm sizes of protein, a thumbs-worth of fat and a big pile-o-veg.

Recommended pre-and post-workout nutrition is a small portion of protein and fat (minimal carbs) beforehand and a portion of protein and carbs (minimal fat) after. These are in addition to your three meals of the day.

I work out first thing, and find it works best to have something very small (like a handful of macadamia nuts, an egg, or a spoonfull of coconut manna, maybe?) first, then eat my breakfast meal after (I typically have a couple hard boiled eggs, about half a small roasted sweet potato, some steamed broccoli, cherry tomatoes and a few slices of roast beef). During my whole30 I tried hard to get some of the sweet potato and roast beef in right away after the workout, but for me it doesn't seem to make a difference if I shower first and eat the whole breakfast once I get to the office (about 20 minutes post-workout).

I train early as well... Currently in our conditioning camp for competitive kickboxing, and it doesn't get any more intense...