Looking for a pickled red onion recipe

Muse_of_Fire

Hello there!

I am a semi-professional athlete who eats mostly paleo/mediterranean but due to overtraining and also coping with major life changes (divorce, moving, mental health issues) I have put my training on a major slowdown, refrained from all competitions, and been super relaxed about my diet. I'm planning to use Whole 30 to do a diet reset, to get back to my training and to get back to competition. It is my first time doing Whole 30. My start date will be 2/1/18, and I have my sights on a competition in May. I'm trying to plan ahead as much as I can for my Whole 30 start so I'm trying to set up a rough 30-day meal plan in advance.

I use homemade pickled red onions in a LOT of stuff. They are my go-to add-on to top meat, steamed veggies, bowls, etc. The recipe is red onions, rice vinegar, red wine vinegar, salt, and sugar. I am wondering if there is a compliant recipe out there. I have the Whole 30 Quick and Easy cookbook and there is a recipe for quick-pickled veggies in there. It uses pineapple juice for the acid and the sweetener, so I'm thinking of trying to apply that to just the onions but I think it will be too sweet. Anyone have a compliant pickled red onion recipe? Can I use unsweetened apple cider?

I welcome your advice. I will try not to be too much of a noob. ;)

• Moderators