New to Whole30 in Los Angeles and I really want to weigh myself!!

Linda419

Hi all!

I'm Linda and I'm new to Whole30.  I am 55 and very active - running and yoga.  A couple of friends had weight loss success and success with losing sugar cravings.  Today is day 5.  I am not really over weight (just 7-8 pounds of vanity weight) and am down about 15 pounds over the last year just exercising and doing calorie restriction.  I know that I can't sustain that and before Whole30 had cravings every afternoon for sugar and salty crunchy things.  Those have virtually disappeared in just 5 days!  But I really really want to weigh myself!  I know I fall into the "chained to the scale" group and I'm looking for further support on this subject.  I absolutely have in the past let the scale number dictate my mood or what I ate that day.  Also, I"m feeling very full from the protein and all the vegetables and while I'm not bloated, it feels weird to feel full (probably because I was so used to calorie restriction over the years!).  

Can any of you give me some help on leaving the scale alone?  I'd like that addiction to go out with the cravings!! :)

Thanks!

Hi @Linda419 - I have the same issue with the scale. Its an impulse to step on.  It's a rule that I've definitely broken, but I understand why they don't want you to do so. Weight fluctuates throughout the month and if you put a lot of emphasis on the scale, then you will lose motivation when the scale isn't going the "right" way. 

Whole30 has a great resourse list of non-scale victories (NSV) that you can use to help you identify progress that isn't a number on a scale: https://whole30.com/downloads/whole30-nsv.pdf

Thanks so much Emily!  I do really believe in the science after reading "It starts with food" so much that I've even made flow charts to understand and visualize it!  Thanks for the camaraderie and for the NSV list!  Linda