When can I have...?

SaraEC

Hello, I'm new at Whole30. I'm on day 3. I just made the shrimp frittata recipe recommended in the "It all starts with food" book, only to realize mid-way cooking the dish that the shrimp I bought has sodium metabisulfite, so now I can't eat it. I bought the shrimp at a local butcher who carries high-quality meats, including organic ones (and some select seafood). I did not think to check the label, especially when he said that the shrimp from this region was superior. In any case, I do not plan to throw it out, but I don't want to jeopardize my Whole30, so I will try freezing my frittata, and keep the rest of the frozen shrimp for later. Is this something I can eat during the reintroduction phase, or do I need to wait until I'm completely finished with all the Whole30 steps. Quite disappointed! 

• Moderators

Bummer!!! :(  There's no 'day' for additives outlined in reintroduction but since you'll have the lovely 'compliant but for' frittatta on hand, you can definitely make that one of your reintro items... If it was me, I'd do it as the first day reintro because it's one of the items that might be more unlikely to cause a problem for most people (where as say grains or soy is hugely problematic for a lot of people).

As far as reheating it, not sure if you wanted advice around that or not but as a frequent fritatta reheater, my advice would be to cut it into pieces before freezing and then thaw in a strainer to let the excess liquid drain away... then, you can slice the piece into smaller slices and pan fry on both sides to crisp it up and warm it through, or you can chop it all up in the pan and make it more like a hash if it doesn't slice easily.

On 9/8/2018 at 3:35 PM, SugarcubeOD said: