Nervous to start my Whole30 8/26/19

abuelatinez

Hi, my name is Sarah. I’m beginning my Whole30 on Monday and I have got jitters and insecurities and doubts popping up in my head!  Did this happen to anyone else?  I’m nervous that I’m going to gain weight and not realize it since I won’t be weighing or measuring. How do you get past this fear? 

Hi Sarah! Welcome aboard!

I'm on day 12 and... well, you can see my own thread with my very own doubts about getting started - in another topic of this forum ;)
I'm gonna guess that most people have their own doubts, because they either are skeptical or they have had bad dieting experiences in the past.

I'm no expert but my feeling is that following the Whole30 plan it is way easier to undereat than overeat!
Because we are used to snack on treats, to put in our plate foods with a low nutritional profile that does not satiate us, etc. So when you remove all those "fillers" you have plenty of room in your meals for lots and lots of healthy nutritious food.
Most people lose weight simply because they start eating better food :)

And weighting or measuring, do you really need them?
I mean, your clothes would fit tighter if you gained weight, they would fit looser if you lost it. 
I'm sure you would realize it!

https://whole30.com/revised-timeline/
I'm linking this because it's probably important to realize that your pants might actually feel tighter at some point (not necessarily following the exact timeline shown) because of changes in your gut... not bad changes that automatically equate to gaining weight, either. This is one part of why it's important to free yourself from weighing (and measuring) for the duration, because there will be changes, you may actually go up at some point, etc.