Whole30 (possibly Whole50) round 2!

enyaluna

Hi all, I'm new!

A bit about me: I'm female, I'm in my second year of medical school, and we're about to start preparing for our first set of board exams. I attempted the Whole30 twice; my first attempt proved unsuccessful after 23 days, but my second attempt almost one year ago was very successful in spite of all the temptations (free food) and struggles (staying social and finding compliant meals at restaurants around town), and I felt amazing afterwards. I want to reset my diet after two weeks of very unhealthy holiday eating and develop healthy eating habits that help eliminate fatigue and boost brain power, especially with board exams approaching.

My second round begins tomorrow and I'm very excited about it. I spent several days researching recipes and coming up with meal plans that incorporate the same types of ingredients. There is a Trader Joe's and a Whole Foods about 20 minutes away from my place, and I've allotted time on Sundays to buy the ingredients and prep the meals. For those of you in medical school or any other type of graduate program, you probably know how much of a time commitment it can be, so I made sure all of my meals are quick and easy to prepare (lots of soups, salads, and "wraps"!) Although I'm normally a vegetarian, I've decided to incorporate fish and poultry-based bone broth into my diet as protein sources.

I'm super excited to start this round. I will post food logs and pictures as I go... now off to start meal prepping!

9 hours ago, 50andstillhere said:

So do you make your own bone broth? I have done it but it never "gels" like the recipe says it should.  I figure, that it probably is still good for me.