Trying to Make it in the Real World

MadyVanilla

I'm a W30 veteran, but haven't actually done a full 30 days in a very long time.  I have 6 complete rounds under my belt over the last 10-15 years, but I took about a 5 year hiatus and then started and stopped several times during lock-down.  Most recently, I started this past September, but didn't get beyond the two week mark.  

I ended up back on this forum today.  I'm not really sure why.  But I do know it helps me to journal.  So I'm going to journal here, while I contemplate whether or not I want to start an April W30.  Since last September, I've been inconsistent with my eating habits.  I'll do exceptionally well for days, even a few weeks, only to find myself sitting in the McDonald's drive-thru.  My weight has been stagnant.  I'm about 50 lbs overweight.  

Back in January, my doctor told me he wanted me to consider bariatric surgery.  This was a complete and utter shock to me.  Am I really that heavy?  Do I look that bad?  He pointed out that my weight had been fairly steady over the last 5 years.  This is true - I gained a bunch of weight (I'd like to blame it on my knees and not being able to workout, or on perimenopause, but the reality is my diet is crap) and I have failed to lose any of it for any length of time.  The other thing was he wanted me to take a statin as my cholesterol is a little elevated.  Uh-uh, no, not doing it.  And so the real lifestyle change began.  

I have a good base of healthy habits, know what works for me, but I'm just sometimes too lazy to do it.  But since January, this is what I've done: